phantom ponytails

July 31, 2011

Most times I like to take a half-inch off my hair. This time I switched it up and kept a half-inch. I’ve been talking about shaving my head since High School and figured a decade was a long-enough period of time to decide.

So here I am, filling my life with new experiences. Soaking my head in sunblock during the day, wearing hats in the grocery store so that I don’t lose too much body heat, and the unanticipated phantom ponytail. If I haven’t seen my reflection for a while I forget that I have no hair, and get the sensation that my hair is in a tight rubber-band. Then I go to play with it and am stunned back into reality as I find just one big, fuzzy patch on my head.

In other news, I bought fancy olive oil and cherry balsamic vinaigrette. One of the first places I went downtown in moving to this city was a little shop on SW 9th called Benessere. They sell olive oil and balsamic. That’s it. and some salt. but mostly oil and balsamic. So cool, right? I finally made it back today, so good.

Leave a comment